Tags

, , , , , ,

Poking around in research about the English/Scottish border in the late 14th century (for the Kate Clifford series), I keep discovering bits and pieces of research that give me shivers of, oh, if only this had been published while I was writing the Margaret KJedburgh Abbey (doorway) 001err trilogy…. Such as the post:  http://www.breakingofbritain.ac.uk/blogs/feature-of-the-month/september-2011-the-guardians-in-1286-and-wallaces-uprising-in-1297/

But I quickly shake off the regret and store up the nuggets for a future project. Who knows when I’ll need it? I had no idea when I starting fiddling with the first Kate Clifford story that I would be revisiting research I began for A Spy for the Redeemer (the machinations of Dame Phillippa’s late husband), which fired my interest in the early years of the Scottish Wars of Independence, which led to the Margaret Kerr books.

Reconsidering this new information, perhaps my only real regret is that I couldn’t incorporate Richard of Lundie’s [possible] change of heart during the Battle of Stirling Bridge. But that would have added an unnecessary subplot.

Most interesting to me is how ideas and information I haven’t revisited in so many years–a dozen?–rush back, flooding me with half-glimpsed scenes as I browse through the literature and flip through my photos from my treks through Scotland and the borders. I smell peat, I hear pipes and drums. And all of this is just to provide glimpses of Kate’s childhood, and the political/social conditions on the northern borders that formed her.

